The Bluffs

bluffs

When I was young this was my refuge. I could go here cry, laugh, sing, talk to God, ask Him for help, or just be lost for hours here.

These bluff have my blood, sweat, and tears. I contemplated many things up here. Some were very dark things when it was a bad day; praying and asking God for a way out.

It would be many years away from here before I ever felt safe again. But you might say these bluffs saved my life.

I would dance, a country & western singer at one point and a rock star the next.Sometimes made up songs to God and just prayed the next day would be better.

When my friend Nathan and I came through here, it was like time traveling. I was lost in space, remembering how these bluffs were in fact my mountains. He took the picture for me. I could not climb so high and far out to the edge .

I think even here, I first learned to be thankful. Thankful for the safety and peace.

I’d take off for the bluffs on my bike. “Where do you think you’re going?” To talk to God Id say. “Well I hope he gets through to you! I can talk til I am blue in the face and you act like a stubborn old mule!” The dialogue was my foster mother at the time. Perhaps she was right.

Id ask God to teach me to be better, it just seemed I’d never get better. But The open arms of unconditional love was like a tidal wave from these bluffs to me.

In the spirit of giving thanks, I am grateful for these bluffs that hold such bitter-sweet memories for me.

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

